10 Healthy Recipes You’ve Got to Try

Makeover your diet with these delicious “clean” recipes made with good-for-you ingredients like whole grains and seasonal produce

When it comes to making healthy choices, things aren’t always easy. Grocery stores and restaurants are full of unhealthy options, and the most convenient foods are usually the worst for you. Terry Walters’ book, Clean Start, is filled with delicious recipes for clean food that allows you to control what goes into your body. Focused on maximizing nutritional value and taste, and minimizing waste and imbalance, Terry’s recipes will truly give you a clean start.

10 Recipes for a 'Clean Start'

Red Lentil Soup with Turnip and Parsley
When that first cold rainy day rolls around and you find yourself yearning to put a pot of soup on the stove, this soup is the answer. It’s the perfect use for the final baskets of tomatoes from your garden or the farmers market, and a great way to feature fall’s bounty of sweet turnips.
Get the recipe for Red Lentil Soup with Turnip and Parsley

Deep Dish Greens with Millet Amaranth Crust

Deep Dish Greens with Millet Amaranth Crust
When my children were young, I made this onedish meal with frozen veggies and a more traditional pie crust. As they became more adventurous eaters, I added more dark leafy greens, and eventually exchanged the crust for this hearty wholegrain topping. I’m not sure my family even remembers the original version, but they definitely love what it has become.
Get the recipe for Deep Dish Greens with Millet Amaranth Crust

Creamy Split Pea Soup

Creamy Split Pea Soup
My local natural food store has an incredible selection of prepared foods, yet I always end up selecting the split pea soup. While I love making my own, it’s so comforting to know that this soup is always there prepared and waiting for me. No matter where I am in my day, I find it a calming and soothing treat. This version is perked up with the addition of sweet and tart Meyer lemons. It freezes well, so make enough to put some away for another day.
Get the recipe for Creamy Split Pea Soup

Pear Cake

Pear Cake
The inspiration from this recipe came from my friend Vicki, who is handsdown the best baker I know. Her supermoist apple cake is just the right combination of light and sweet. And, while I’ve still not been able to convince her to share her recipe, this gluten-free pear version satisfied my craving with ease. I would like to think that someday Vicki might actually ask me for this recipe, but I guess that’s unnecessary now!
Get the recipe for Pear Cake

Polenta Pizzas

Polenta Pizzas
Among the many glutenfree people I meet, almost all say they miss pizza more than any other food. This version is sure to please those who are glutenfree as well as those who are not. The crust can be made hours in advance. Keep it wrapped and refrigerated, and bake it when you make your topping.
Get the recipe for Polenta Pizzas

Asparagus with Miso Lemon Dressing

Asparagus with Miso Lemon Dressing
Miso is a great source of essential vitamin B12 and immunestrengthening zinc. Plus, it delivers big taste and significant health benefits. In the winter, it’s easy to add miso to soups and stews. Come spring, I favor lighter preparations like this one that contrast miso’s taste with the delicate and sweet Marcona almonds and fresh asparagus to highlight the flavors of the season.
Get the recipe for Asparagus with Miso Lemon Dressing

Green Fries

Green Fries
I love freshly baked bread, but try hard to resist it when I’m out to eat. What I really want is something to bridge the gap until my meal arrives and not fill me up so that I don’t have room for dessert! My local burger joint has the perfect solution – hot, salty, crunchy and healthy “green fries.” Somehow, when I tried making them myself, the addition of wasabi powder became a must.
Get the recipe for Green Fries

Wilted Green Salad with Autumn Cranberry Dressing

Wilted Green Salad with Autumn Cranberry Dressing
This recipe is an original from Terry Walters, made exclusively for iVillage.
Get the recipe

Sweet Potato Salad

Sweet Potato Salad
This recipe is an original from Terry Walters, made exclusively for iVillage.
Get the recipe

Inca Red Quinoa with Roasted Fruit

Inca Red Quinoa with Roasted Fruit
This recipe is an original from Terry Walters, made exclusively for iVillage.
Get the recipe

Source

Leave a Reply

